Ballon D’Or Award 2016: Ronaldo or Messi two options one answer

ronaldo vs messi

By M. Kolev

The football world is in a big expectation about this year’s winner of the Ballon D’Or Award ceremony. Two of the most obvious options are the same as the last year’s ceremony – Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. Of course, we are not underestimating the efforts and achievements of Luis Suarez, Antoine Griezmann and Gareth Bale throughout the season.

What happened during the Ballon D’Or Award 2015

Last year’s award was the most expected one for Lionel Messi because of his achievements with his club team Barcelona as he won the Champions League, La Liga and Copa del Rei.
He won the award by 41.3% of all the votes and left behind his greatest football rival Ronaldo with 27.7%. The third place was for Messi’s teammate Neymar with 7.8%.

Ballon D’Or 2016 ceremony venue

The winner of the Ballon D’Or Award 2016 will be announced in January 2017. The venue is traditionally Zurich, Switzerland but there is a big possibility for this year’s ceremony to be held in London, UK.

The predictions for Ballon D’Or 2016:

The most dominant players since season 2008/2009 are and the most expected ones for the winner of the ceremony. Lionel is leading with his total of 5 Ballon D’Or awards against Cristiano who has 3 Ballon D’Or awards.

So let’s remember what happened last season.

CR 7 has scored 35 goals and 11 assists in the La Liga, 16 goals and 4 assists in the UEFA Champions League by which total’s 51 goals and 15 assists in all competitions. He has won the UEFA Champions League trophy and the UEFA Euro 2016 with his national team Portugal for which he managed 3 goals and 3 assists.

On the other side, Messi has achieved 26 goals and 16 assists in the La Liga, 6 goals and 1 assist in the Champions League, 9 goals and 6 assists for other cups by which total’s 41 goals and 23 assists. With his club team, he has won the La Liga, Copa del Rei, Club world cup, UEFA Super Cup and with his national team Argentine he managed to reach the final of the Copa América Centenario and scored 5 goals.

There is definitely one answer of the question – Who will win? It is obvious that Ronaldo is prevailing in most of the aspects and his two titles with Real Madrid and Portugal make him a clear favourite for the award. Right behind him are Messi, Luis Suarez, Antoine Griezmann and Gareth Bale.

Until it all ends we can only predict and speculate about the winner. the true winner will be announced in January 2017.